top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturesophiejenna

My Spirituality! What do I do and believe?????

Updated: Oct 23, 2018

What do I believe in, and what do I do spiritually?


When I tell people that I am not an atheist, I have my own Goddess spirituality, people often ask me what do I do, what do I believe in, am I in a cult (hahhahaha no). It can be hard to answer the question, because many people don’t know what I mean by “Goddess”. Everything changes all the time anyway, and I’m rediscovering and deepening into what it means to be on a spiritual path every day.


What feels like the most important and integral aspect of what I do, is, I honour the Divine as Goddess, she who has MANY faces and names and has been worshipped for a very long time by humanity… I see her and feel in the beautiful land of the earth and my body and the connection between the two through constant changes in cycles and seasons. I see Goddess in all of nature and as a part of me, within me all the time. Being in nature intensifies this connection and “part of something more” feeling and I like to call in Goddess to my life and make prayers and gratitude and offerings to the ocean or woodlands and build myself an altar in dedication to goddess where I can leave offerings that I collected from nature like flowers, leaves, stones and stuff (aren’t I cute hehe). Without my connection and devotion to this (impossible to encompass in words!), deeply loving and healing feminine energy, I don’t think any of the other positive practices I do in my life would have taken form. This work with connecting to Goddess didn’t just fall upon me; from a young age I was actively making connections and community with people I could learn from and I went to the Goddess Conference in Glastonbury age 16 and never looked back. I would not have been surprised if someone had told me then that in 7 years later this devotion would be my practice every day, the biggest source of love and light in my life. It felt right!!


As a woman honouring Goddess, I honour my body and my moon blood cycles, and it’s a practice to stay positive and deeply loving about myself. As a young woman growing up in our society always seeing images and expectations of what it means to be beautiful it can be difficult to always feel positive about myself and one of my challenges has been to say and believe only kind and loving thoughts about myself and my sisters, this is an ongoing daily practice to love my body fully! But as it is integral to my belief that the divine is not far away in the clouds but right here, with me, all the time in this body – my body is sacred. My body is a vessel for divine love to shine in the world. My cycles reflect the cycles of the seasons and the moon and this is because we are all connected to the earth. Finding and upholding healthy sisterhood and seeing the beauty in all other woman, not as competition but as my Sisters, is just as important as honouring myself. There is plenty of room on earth for ALL of us to be shining in our full beauty! I am so Grateful for the incredible deep sisterhood I have in my life!


Part of my spirituality is to explore deeply within myself to find peace and contentment and clarity, lots of joy and ecstasy from my connection with Her. However, I think we all carry a lot of emotional wounds due to things that have happened in our life or even in past lives. I think carrying so much emotional trauma can stop us from being at peace and feeling connected to Goddess. Every day I am opening more and more to my authenticity and my truth of my being, working deeply on my core wounding around belonging and love and relationships. Doing deep work on emotional conditioning is time consuming, constantly ongoing. It definitely helps to have a good teacher and support from others on the same path. Sometimes it feels easy and joyful but often it can be challenging, to say the least!!! It’s called Growing Pains 😉 But I do believe that I am getting stronger and more and more able to hold myself through all sorts of processes and ask for what I need from my community 😊 And, despite the challenges that can come from looking inward, each little milestone is immensely gratifying.


The reason I bother to go through all the headache of going inward and finding my truth below conditioning and wounding is because I do believe that we are here as human beings for a reason. This is just my belief personally, but I think we are here, on Earth, for our souls to grow in their capacity to love, to feel more love and more joy, and more connection with each other and the bigger picture. I do believe that our souls have many lives overcoming many challenges in each. For me this time it does feel important to become strong and clear and content with myself and who I am what I am doing, and I have a lot of ideas for where my Goddess devotion Priestess path is going to take me! But for now, I am continuing to explore what this means to me in my life, how I can continue to heal and grow, what I can do to serve others and help other people with their journeys, and basically just see where this all takes me!


On top of the Tor, Glastonbury, my spiritual Home <3

So.. I guess in a nutshell that’s sort of an answer to the question I get asked and never know how to answer!

Blessings and love, thanks for reading 😊 <3

109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Blog: Blog2
bottom of page