top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturesophiejenna

Finding Paths

Updated: Oct 23, 2018


Recently, I’ve been reminding myself that it’s OKAY to spend my 20’s taking risks and trying new things.


I want to just embrace adventure. Not on an upward mission like a road to success, but just an adventure to see what happens along the way.


In doing this, I’m moving away from the idea of “success” or “failure”. It’s a mindset ingrained in my conditioning to “succeed” or else it’s a “fail”. It starts in school with exams, and then university, and then in work too. And within all of life, the expectations that we have on us culturally. On social media everyone shows their highlights and as a whole, we continue to perpetrate this dissatisfied, throw-away consumerist culture where we are constantly trying to upgrade ourselves, improve, get more success. There’s always a better car, a better iPhone, a better holiday, a better-paid job, a fitter body, a more productive routine. If you go by what social media says then there will ALWAYS be someone else who is happier. When does the goal orientated “aiming” end, and contentment begin?


I’ve learned that to be mindful, we have to become aware and present in the moment. But…. How can I be mindful of what is real, now, if every moment is an opportunity to aim for something better?


So… I’m NOT talking about quitting education and work not bothering to do our best. I have strong beliefs of what I am capable of! And I trust in my ability to do awesome things. I love working hard. I love having a belief in something, a vision to work on to bring to life.


I’m talking about finding a way to switch off that voice that says... “You’re only a success if…….”. That voice that says it's better not to try for a fear of failing.


Because what I’m realising is I have actually learned more from my “failures” than my “successes”.


When my romantic relationships have failed (too many times to say hahaha) I have learned to become stronger in myself and how to take care of myself.

When I've gotten it wrong in friendships and had to make amends, I've strengthened my trust and bond with those friends.

When I was an art student and I had one creative block after another, I learned how to push through that and find my creativity.

I have failed at having boundaries, I have failed at being open. I have failed to be careful with my heart. I have failed to trust.

I failed at being perfect over and over again, because no one is perfect. And each time I learned to forgive myself. Each time I learned something new about who I am.


I don't have a plan beyond the next month.

But I’m telling myself it’s OKAY to not have a plan.

It’s OKAY to have no idea where I’ll be next or what I’ll be doing.

It’s OKAY that the future is a mystery.

And it’s okay that it’s inevitable that I will have great “successes” AND “failures” along the way.

It’s OKAY to make mistakes.



Recently I dedicated to “Be the Pathfinder”.

So, I’ve been thinking about what a pathfinder is to me.

*The Pathfinder thinks about the future with excitement while staying content with what is present.

*The Pathfinder doesn’t see success as a way to upgrade and failure as a step back, but rather both as lessons and opportunities to grow.

*The Pathfinder trusts her intuition and the flow of things.

*The Pathfinder doesn’t listen to cultural expectations of what she should be. Rather she listens to her own true nature and walks with her own truth.

*The Pathfinder is present in what is Real now.

*The Pathfinder knows it’s okay to reach a dead-end and turn around because the view is different when you’re facing the other way 😉

*The Pathfinder is adventurous and takes risks not from a place of dissatisfaction with the present but from a place of curiosity and exploration.

*The Pathfinder likes to travel 😊 (In my case hehehe)

*The Pathfinder is adaptable and open minded. She remembers that everything is always changing and nothing is permanent.




On the shoreline in Dorset

Happy exploring Pathfinders <3 Blessed Be <3 xxxxxxxxxx

97 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Blog: Blog2
bottom of page